Here is some information about our Judges:

Alice Fisher

Ms. Fisher is a high school computer science (CS) teacher who has also taught many years of middle and high school mathematics. She currently teaches AP CS Principles, AP CS-A, IB CS SL, and CS III at Bellaire High School in Houston ISD. She grew up near Pittsburgh, PA, and earned a B.A. in History and teaching certification in secondary mathematics from Rice University in 1996, and a Master of Arts in Mathematics at the University of Houston in 2014. For a few years, she supported teachers and students through the Rice University School Mathematics Project (RUSMP) and the Rice Center for Excellence and Equity in Education. She continues to facilitate professional learning workshops through RUSMP and Code.org. She loves to share her passion for computing and mathematics with students.

Karen North

Karen North is a retired computer science and math teacher. As a White House champion of change for computer science education she continues to advocate for equitable access to computer science education in public and political forums. She volunteers with Keep Houston Beautiful, Cities Connecting Children with Nature, Spring Branch ISD, the International Society for Technology Education (ISTE), American Association of University Women (AAUW-WHC), National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT), Texas for Computer Science Education (TX4CS), Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA), Texas Girls Collaborative Project Champions board, and Rice University’s School Mathematics Project (RUSMP). More about her life can be found at www.build-a-brain.com.

Jyoti Malhan

Jyoti Malhan is the Director of Computer Science in the Office of Strategy and Innovation. She is leading the design and development of the new 6- 12 Houston Academy of Computer Science in Houston ISD. Prior to this she served as the founding principal of the Baylor College of Medicine Academy at James D Ryan Middle School since August 2013. She also cofounded the Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy in August 2011 and served as the Dean of Instruction there for two years. Both schools have been recognized as exemplary magnet programs and have attracted local, state and national attention as model schools to replicate. Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan was awarded as top 3 magnet schools in America by Magnet Schools of America in April 2017. Jyoti is also the first ever public-school educator to receive an Honorary Doctorate of Humanities in Medicine from Baylor College of Medicine in May 2017.